Standing in the Fire

On paper, the last month has been one the most challenging months of my life thus far.

I transitioned out of my role at Back on My Feet, started building my support team for the Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA), hoped and prayed through difficult and uncertain family situations, traveled to the joy of India and then returned to the unexpected passing of my dear Grandma Peggy.

People ask me, “Are you okay? Are you sure?”

I smile and they probably think I’m crazy, but really… I am. These things are tough, but God continues to encourage and inspire me in his goodness.

As I laid down to sleep, the Lord brought the story of Shadrach, Meshach and Abendgo to mind from Daniel 3. If you aren’t super familiar with the story… It is about three guys that are commanded to bow down to the image of gold that the king creates. They refused and in return, they are bound and thrown into the blazing furnace. Rather than burning up, they survive and with awe… the king changes his narrative as he worships Yahweh – the God of Shadrach, Meshach and Abendgo.

As I thought about these guys… They must have felt the heat, but they didn’t get burned. As they were thrown into the fire, I’m sure it was hot and they are were probably nervous, but at the end of the day… they trusted in the deliverance of the Lord.

“King Nebuchadnezzar, we do not need to defend ourselves before you in this matter. If we are thrown into the blazing furnace, the God we serve is able to deliver us from it, and he will deliver us from Your Majesty’s hand.” (Daniel 3:16-17)

I feel like I have been standing in the fire lately. It’s hot, but I’m not getting burned. I feel at peace and confident in what the Lord has done, what he is doing and what he has yet to do. Everyone thought these men would burn up as soon as they were thrown into the furnace. My natural response should be fear, anxiety and discouragement. Yet, with the peace and presence of God himself, he continues to strengthen and sanctify me.

A few key observations as I read Daniel 3:

  • In the testimony of the Lord, there is opposition. Caution: hard stuff ahead.
    • I have taken the step of faith into full-time ministry. Since then, there has been some tough stuff, my friends.
  • Everything was stacked against these men. The furnace was heated 7x hotted and they were tied up.
  • The men who threw them into the fire DIED. With the power and protection of the Lord, others could not endure such fire. 
  • BUT! While in the fire, the men were set free AND there was a fourth person – the perceived “Son of God.” (The Lord stands with us in the fire?!!)
  • Others will see and respond to the outcome of our obedience. Daniel 3:28 says, “Then Nebuchadnezzar said, Praise be to the God of Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego, who has sent his angel and rescued his servants! They trusted in him and defied the king’s command and were willing to give up their lives rather than serve or worship any god except their own God.'”

Psalm 66:10-12 –

“For you, God, tested us;
    you refined us like silver.
You brought us into prison
    and laid burdens on our backs.
You let people ride over our heads;
    we went through fire and water,
    but you brought us to a place of abundance.”

1 thought on “Standing in the Fire

Leave a comment